top of page

The Line That Held Us


There are two types of living you could experience to help you understand the line of thinking of characters in this book:

small town & coutry

Now, I am eternally grateful that I didn't grow up in neither a small town nor the country, but I've got plenty (too much) experience with both. Living in a place like that leads to different interpretations of the world, and different interpretations of loyalty, consequences and revenge.

 

Darl is an idiot, who is illegally hunting when he accidentally shoots and kills 'Sissy' Brewer.

There's clearly been some instances of Dwayne Brewer's insatiable rage in the past for Darl to be more afraid of his wrath than that of the of not-so-long arm of law. I personally have seen enough CSI to know, when you accidentally murder someone, you should immediately go to the cops, 'cause your DNA is all over the place.

But, our genius friend Darl decides to drag his genius friend, Calvin, into this mix.

Here's Darl explaining to Calvin why they've got to hide the body:

"I'd be lucky if all he did was come after me," Darl said. "But knowing him, knowing everything he's done, you and me both know it wouldn't end there. I bet he'd come after my momma and my little sister and my niece and my nephews and anybody else he could get his hands on. That son of a bitch is crazy enough to dig up my daddy's bones just to set him on fire"

page 25

Now we've got two not-very-smart boys hiding bodies and keeping secrets. But, because they aren't very smart, the crazy one figures it out pretty quickly.

Darl has good reason to fear Dwayne. Any man who likes to start fights and bully kids is not a man you want looking for you. A compete lunatic, Dwayne doesn't even take the time to plan his revenge, just act on it.

"Dwayne wanted to find a group of cologne-soaked frat boys with parted hair and dress shirts and he wanted to break one of those pretty-boy faces simply to see him bleed"

page 33

Yikes.

I can't really get too far into it without giving away a lot, so I'll just say- this is one you want to read. Highly suspenseful and full of unpredictable characters, The Line That Holds Us takes you on a path where there is no turning back and where loyalty and revenge is law.

"He knew his way home, but things that had always been simple would never be that way again"

page 43

 

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page